Album Review “Future Friends” by Superfruit


I would never have even heard of “Future Friends” if a friend hadn’t recommended it to me. For no particular reason, I don’t follow or listen to a lot of modern pop music. Originally I was skeptical of whether or not I would actually like this album, but I found it to be an enjoyable collection of fun songs.

“Future Friends” was released by Scott Hoying and Mitch Grassi on Sep. 15, 2017, under the duo’s band name, Superfruit. Hoying and Grassi are most well-known for being a part of Pentatonix— the a capella group famous for their covers and medleys. In 2013, Hoying and Grassi created a youtube channel named Sup3rfruit as a side project. The channel mainly focuses on their lives or comedic internet challenges, but in October 2016 they released their first original single as a duo, “Bad 4 Us” a song which would later be a part of the “Future Friends” album. They released an EP titled “Future Friends – Part One” containing the first seven songs from the full album on June 30, 2017, releasing them again in September as a complete album.

If you’re looking for deep, meaningful songs, you’re not going to find that here. However, I’m not criticizing “Future Friends” because of that. The songs on this album can only be described as typical pop songs, but they are upbeat and fun to listen to. This album is perfect for when you just want something with a faster tempo and a catchy tune. I have this album on my work playlist, and I always find it refreshing when these songs play.

My top two favorites from the album are, “Goodbye From Lonely” and “Future Friends– Brian Robert Jones Choir Remix.” What I like about “Goodbye From Lonely” is that it features a simpler backing track that gives it a more classic feel than the rest of the songs on the album, setting it apart. “Future Friends– Brian Robert Jones Choir Remix” is a remix of the song “Future Friends,” the seventh song on the album. I usually don’t like remixes, but I prefer this remix over the original. Although the original song is fine on it’s own, the remix gives it sense of depth and emotion that the original song doesn’t have.

I don’t absolutely love every song in “Future Friends,” but I don’t vehemently hate any of them, either. The most negative feeling I have towards any of these songs is just a vague sense of boredom, but that could also be chalked up to the fact that I’ve heard these pop up enough on my playlist that I’ve managed to memorize the lyrics without realizing it.

 I’d definitely recommend giving this album a listen. It can be found on most music platforms (like iTunes and Spotify) and as of October 6, 2017, Superfruit has uploaded music videos to their Youtube channel for every song up to “Deny U,” and plan to release more music videos in the near future.


Track List:

  1. Imaginary Parties
  2. Bad 4 Us
  3. Worth It (Perfect)
  4. Vacation
  5. Sexy Ladies
  6. Heartthrob
  7. Future Friends
  8. How You Feeling?
  9. Hurry Up!
  10. Deny U
  11. Goodbye From Lonely
  12. GUY.exe
  13. Fantasy- w/ Amber Liu
  14. Keep Me Coming
  15. Everything- w/ Inara George
  16. Future Friends– Brian Robert Jones Choir Remix- w/ Brian Robert Jones

Here’s the album on Spotify: